Addison, IL DUI Defense Attorneys
DUI Defense Lawyers Serving DuPage, Cook, and All Surrounding Counties
Illinois is widely known for some of the toughest DUI laws in the country; recent changes have made them even harsher. Moreover, in the weeks and months leading up to trial, the state has a large number of lawyers and investigators whose only job is to convict as many people as possible. Pretrial negotiations in DUI cases are often difficult, due to the sensitive political nature of these offenses. Finally, when the cases go to trial, many jurors are openly hostile to DUI defendants. In short, if you were charged with this crime, the deck is stacked against you.
The assertive attorneys at Stringini & Garvey, P.C. even the odds. We quickly identify all the legal, factual, and equitable defenses you have, and leverage those defenses during negotiations and at trial. We also relentlessly attack the states case. We do all these things because we are not satisfied with anything less than the best possible result in each and every case.
DUI Criminal Penalties
The punishment in each case is essentially tied to the number of prior offenses. Unlike most other states, Illinois does not limit the lookback period, so any subsequent DUI charge is treated as a subsequent offense. Court supervision is sometimes an option for a first offense, but it is typically not available for subsequent violations unless an attorney can arrange a plea agreement. The maximum penalties for each level are:
- First Offense: One year in jail, $2,500 fine, one-year license suspension.
- Second Offense: One year, $2,500 fine, five-year license suspension.
- Third Offense: Seven years in prison, $25,000 fine, ten-year license suspension.
- Fourth Offense: Seven years, $25,000 fine, license revocation.
Some other aggravating circumstances often apply, such as a BAC above .16, the drivers age, and the presence of children in the vehicle. Beginning in 2016, a restricted drivers license may be available at each level, even if you have four DUI convictions. Other new laws took effect in 2015, which mostly pertain to parental responsibility for underage DUIs.
Each offense also carries the possibility of pre-conviction drivers license suspension, if the suspect either submitted to a chemical test and had a BAC of above .08 or refused to submit to a test. The period ranges from six months to three years, and a restricted drivers license is available for first-time offenders.
DUI Defense in Illinois
Lack of evidence is an excellent defense to a first-time DUI or any subsequent violation. Even if there is some evidence against the defendant, such as unfavorable results on a field test, there may not be enough evidence to support a conviction. In addition, damaging statements and other illegally obtained evidence can often be suppressed.
At Stringini & Garvey, P.C., we understand the serious nature of DUI and are committed to a vigorous defense. For a free consultation, contact us today at 630-834-9595. After-hours appointments are available. We serve clients in Cook County, DuPage County, and all surrounding jurisdictions.