Illinois Speeding Laws
Speeding happens. Occasionally it is intentional, for instance for an emergency or someone is simply late for work. Other times, an individual is lost in thought and is not paying attention to the odometer. No matter the reason, speeding can potentially put the lives of others at risk and Illinois law seeks to enforce harsh punishment to those who are found guilty of speeding traffic violations. When the odds are stacked against you, it is best to guard yourself with legal backup to protect your driving privileges.
The law punishes speeding by minors and commercial truck drivers differently than the general driver. Therefore, for the scope of this article, we are focusing just on general speeding traffic laws. Illinois is one of the states that has an “absolute” traffic law. That means that if you even go over the posted speed limit by one mile per hour, then you are in violation of the law. According to state statutes, the basic speeding law states:
“A person shall not drive a vehicle upon any highway at a speed which is greater than is reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway, or endangers the safety of any person or property.”
As always, the best defense is to be sure that you were not in violation of the law. In order to do that, knowledge of the standard driving limits are useful. If you are unable to find a posted speed limit sign, these general guidelines are in effect:
- 65 MPH on Illinois toll highways and on highways that are divided and have at least four lanes,
- 55 MPH on all other highways, roads or streets outside an urban district,
- 30 MPH in an urban district, and
- 15 MPH in an urban district alley.
If you are found guilty of a speed violation, not only may your insurance rates suffer negatively, but so will your driving record. Points may be accumulated in addition to fines and potentially jail time.
The amount of the fines charged is based on the municipality that governs the location in which you were issued the violation. However, general rates are as follows:
- Violation between one and 20 MPH over the limit: $75.00,
- Violation between 21 and 30 MPH over the limit: $95.00,
- Violation in a school zone: $150.00, and
- Violation in a construction zone: $375.00 for the first offense and $1,000.00 for the second offense.
In addition to these fines, there may be surcharges to pay for court fees and processing, as well as license suspension, revocation or cancellation. If you have been charged with a traffic violation due to speeding, contact our experienced Addison criminal defense attorneys, serving clients in Maywood, Wheaton, Rolling Meadows, Bridgeview, Cook County, and all surrounding Chicagoland areas. Call Stringini & Garvey, P.C. today at 630-834-9595 for your free initial consultation.