630-834-9595
24 Hour Availability 630-675-2788
630-834-9595
24 Hour Availability 630-675-2788
Blog
CALL US TODAY AT 630-834-9595 FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION

The Truth about Statutory Summary Suspension

Posted on in DUI

Illinois DUI attorney, Illinois defense lawyerIllinois notoriously has some of the harshest DUI laws and penalties in the country. If convicted of driving under the influence, your license is automatically taken away through the use of statutory summary suspension. The suspension period varies dependent of how the initial stop progressed. If this is the first DUI on record, there may be programs to assist the outcome. Despite dismal odds, there are defensive options available, given the right circumstances.

What Is a Statutory Summary Suspension?

Unlike a revocation which denies driving privileges indefinitely, a suspension denies this allowance for a predetermined length of time. A statutory summary suspension specifically pertains to DUI. If a chemical test results in a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher of alcohol, other drugs, or intoxicating compounds, your driving privileges are suspended for six months to a year. After the allotted amount of time passes, your license is eligible for reinstatement after the payment of a $250.00 fee if this is the first offense. All reinstatement fees after the first offense are $500.00. If you opt to refuse the chemical testing, Illinois has an automatic suspension of 12 to 36 months.

First-Time DUI

If this is your very first DUI, you are likely to be a bit unsettled and unsure of what to do next. Your license does not become suspended immediately, but rather 46 days after the arrest. Your attorney can file a petition before the suspension period begins, potentially maintaining your driving status. Even if the request is denied, you may be eligible for a monitoring device driving permit (MDDP), enabling you to operate your vehicle as normal with the usage of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). If the case goes to trial and results in a conviction, a first-time DUI is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor with a penalty of up to $2,500.00 and up to one year in jail. However, an aggressive attorney reduces the odds of going to jail.

Explore Your Defensive Options

In this state, the odds stack against you in DUI cases. An entire team assembles to focus solely on gaining convictions of as many DUI charges as possible. It is imperative for your future to explore your legal options. Only an experienced lawyer can research the case from every angle to find the best possible solution given the situation. If you are interested in discussing your case with a Glendale Heights, IL DUI defense attorney, contact Stringini & Garvey, P.C. today at 630-834-9595 to set up your free initial consultation. With over 65 years of experience, we have the knowledge and experience to defend your rights and freedom aggressively. We offer 24-hour availability to our clients in Maywood, Glendale Heights, Lombard, Bloomingdale, and all surrounding Chicagoland areas.

 

Source:

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/drivers/faq.html


Contact Us Today

Tell Us About Your Case

NOTE: Fields with a * indicate a required field.
*
*
*


Facebook
Twitter
Back to Top